In Support of the Naked Retweet

retweet

@Danmezick has been blogging and tweeting about Naked ReTweets quite a bit. Before he first raised the issue, I must admit that I was totally unaware of them. In a nutshell, Naked ReTweets are when you just do a “ReTweet” rather than a “Quote Tweet”. So what’s the difference? A Quote will make you the author of the tweet and a ReTweet will keep the original identity of the first person that tweeted, thus preserving a chain of identity and authorship no matter how many times the item is Nakedly ReTweeted! That just blew me away…

twitter blue birdsBoy was I so silly, yet totally innocent in my Clothed ReTweets. Now I know better.

If you need any more information on this then I suggest you read more in his blog entries In Praise of the Naked RT and Retweet (RT) Hijacking. There’s also an interesting piece on how Journalists face The Naked Retweet Dilemma. How about us then? I fully support Dan’s posts and approach that can easily be qualified for you by answering the following questions:

  • Do you value increasing your authority online OVER being courteous and nice to other people? (I hope not!)
  • Do you like to be helpful to other folks? (I hope so!)
  • Is quoting a tweet (when you could retweet it) being very helpful?  (No!)

So now, I try and Nakedly ReTweet as much as I can, only quoting when:

  • I actually have something useful to add, other than “This is great” etc… although I will add a highlight if I think that people should really read a tweet (that’s probably only once every few days or a week)
  • I have significantly rearranged or dug in to items, like with Slashdot where I generally go in to the original link (unless I think the discussion is useful) which saves others having to do the same
  • I’m partially connected, in which case I have to save the Tweet as a draft or the URL in my browser because I can’t look at the content to decide at the time to ReTweet

There are a few positive side-effects also to Naked Retweets:

  1. They’re a lot easier as you’re only selecting one option
  2. If you do want to comment or ask a question, you do a Reply All, which gives you a lot more characters to express your opinion or question (140 – user info) and actually enables you to engage more deeply with the people concerned.
  3. For your extra comment in 2, you get to choose whether your dialogue is with the @’s or with them and the world (in which case you just put a ‘.’ as the first character)

I think that’s what they call a win-win situation :-)

Leave a Reply

