The Sad Process of getting a Contract through a Recruiter

Recruiter on the edgeIf you follow me on Twitter, you’ll know that I’m looking for a contract. I’ve been flat out for most of the day applying for a plethora of positions… Out of all the applications I’d sent, there was one where I got a patronising canned response. I’d had enough, so I sent the following:

Hi,

Many thanks for your canned response. As there is so much work available and possibly even another agency advertising this role, please consider my application withdrawn immediately. Furthermore, I’ve added your organisation to my “recruiter blacklist” as I’m not really interested in dealing with organisations that can not even spend the time responding to me personally when I apply for a role that I am suited for.

Thank you for your totally impersonal handling of this and I look forward to never dealing with you again. I realise you’ll need more than luck with this approach to recruiting.

Regards, Richard.


modisintl/New Modis logo.jpgMany thanks for your application to Modis through Jobsite

We aim to give all applicants an excellent service and respond personally to each of you; however, due to the high levels of applicants for particular roles, sometimes this is not possible.

We ask, that if you have not been contacted by a consultant within 7 days, to please assume that your application has not been successful for that specific role.

Thank you for your interest in this role, we hope we’re able to help you and wish you the best of luck with your search for employment.

Kind regards

Modis
www.modis.co.uk
With over 1000 advertised roles and more added daily, be sure to search the Modis job board.

Oh, and what was the response?

Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:

     CV.Lyndsay.Stewart@mpsgi.com

Technical details of permanent failure: 
Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the
server for the recipient domain mpsgi.com by mail-adecco.aits.fr.
[193.203.96.3].

The error that the other server returned was:
550 5.1.1 <CV.Lyndsay.Stewart@mpsgi.com>: Recipient address rejected:
User unknown

----- Original message -----

Well, that just takes the cake – as I said in my response, I now have another recruiter to add to my blacklist ;-) I’m really hoping that Lyndsay calls me so I can tell her this in person – it’s not personal though, just business (in a human context ;)

PS That Image for the post is from Recruiters: Your Days Are Numbered

Leave a Reply

